One Mistake Shouldn't Take Years To Pay For
North Carolina has taken a harsh stance on drunk driving. Even a DWI charge that is your first offense, that resulted in no property damage or injury can land you in prison for two years, not to mention the loss of your driver's license, the imposition of steep fines and auto insurance rates that skyrocket.
At Roberts Law Group, PLLC, we have been defending individuals just like you for decades and achieving successful results in the process. Avoiding the steep criminal penalties that come with a DWI conviction start with fighting for dismissal or reduction of the drunk driving charge itself. For a free consultation at our Charlotte office, contact us online or at 800-511-7869.
Sentences For DWI In North Carolina
You can be charged with drunk driving, driving while impaired (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) if you blew over .08 or if a police officer suspects that you are impaired by drugs and/or alcohol. If you are convicted, you will face one of five DWI sentencing levels:
DWI penalties increase for each subsequent drunk driving conviction. For the lowest level offenses, levels three through five, the DWI penalties are not mandatory minimum sentences. The prison sentence may be suspended by the judge or replaced with community service. Your DWI defense attorney should be fighting for alternatives to prison when negotiating for the best outcome in your impaired driving case.
Effective Defense Against Drunk Driving Penalties
If a conviction for drunk driving can be avoided, so can the penalties. The best DWI defense strategy involves examining all the evidence in your case, looking for elements that the prosecution must prove to convict you but cannot, discovering that law enforcement acted illegally in pulling you over, the possible mishandling of your breath test or uncovering that you were arrested without sufficient probable cause.
Your DWI defense strategy should also include addressing driver's license suspension issues, including seeking license restoration, requesting a DMV hearing or DWI refusal hearing and limited driving privileges as applicable.
If you have been charged with DWI, underage DWI, habitual DWI or other impaired driving offense, contact Roberts Law Group, PLLC, today. Our lawyers can explain your defense options for a DWI case and create a strategy to minimize the chance of conviction and harsh punishments. Contact us online or at 800-511-7869 to schedule your free consultation.
North Carolina v. J.O.
Facing: 1 year in jail
Result: Case Dismissed
Our client lost her trial in District Court and received a 45 day jail sentence. She hired Roberts Law Group to help her with her Superior Court efforts. We argued a motion to dismiss based on an unconstitutional driver's license checkpoint and prevailed. Any evidence that flowed from the stop of her vehicle was ordered suppressed by the Judge. Case dismissed. Our client blew .13 on the EC-IR II breath device.