Underage DWI

North Carolina Minor In Possession Lawyers

For many minors, a citation for underage drinking in North Carolina is their first interaction with the criminal justice system. From drug possession to underage drinking, a conviction for even a first offense DUI under age 21 can have serious consequences. An underage DWI conviction can affect a teenager's ability to apply for student loans, join the military, get into college or get a job.

Contact Roberts Law Group online today or at 800-511-7869 for a free consultation with an experienced DWI defense lawyer.

If your child has been charged with an alcohol-related offense, it is important to talk to a Charlotte juvenile DUI defense lawyer who understands how even a simple mistake can risk your child's future. At Roberts Law Group, PLLC, our DWI defense lawyers have fought for dismissals, reductions in charges and won acquittals at trial. Our experienced underage drinking and driving defense attorneys can help minimize or eliminate the penalties your child faces.

Charlotte Underage Drinking Attorneys

North Carolina has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking. Our underage DUI laws include no legal limit; there is no .08 threshold for conviction. If you have alcohol in your system or on your breath and you are under 21, you can be arrested and charged with underage drinking.

Teens and 20-year-olds who are 'just trying one beer' or 'taking one shot' can be punished for a misdemeanor alcohol offense. Penalties for misdemeanor possession or consumption of alcohol by a minor include community service, jail time, fines, court costs and a black spot on your criminal record.

Those under 21 who are caught drinking and driving are in for much more severe underage DUI penalties:

  • You will lose your license for at least 30 days, possibly for a year or longer
  • You may be sentenced to community service, jail time and/or substance abuse counseling
  • You will have to pay a fine as well as any court costs
  • Your car insurance premiums will skyrocket
  • You will have to disclose your DWI conviction on future applications (job, college, financial aid, etc)

Underage drivers are still subject to North Carolina's implied consent law. If you refuse a breath test, your underage DUI charges will include an implied consent violation as well as the minor DUI charge.

Parents, we know that your child might not have understood the consequences of getting behind the wheel after just one beer. Our DWI defense lawyers also understand that your child should be given every opportunity to have a positive future, rather than being dragged down by a mistake from their teens or early college years.

Avoid Severe Punishment For Underage DUI

Contact Roberts Law Group, PLLC, for a free consultation with an experience DWI defense attorney to learn about your best DWI defense strategy and your child's DWI defense options. The knowledge and skill of our experienced Charlotte lawyers are only one phone call away when your child has been charged with underage drinking or underage DWI.

North Carolina v. J.O.
Charge: DWI
Facing: 1 year in jail
Result: Case Dismissed

Our client lost her trial in District Court and received a 45 day jail sentence. She hired Roberts Law Group to help her with her Superior Court efforts. We argued a motion to dismiss based on an unconstitutional driver's license checkpoint and prevailed. Any evidence that flowed from the stop of her vehicle was ordered suppressed by the Judge. Case dismissed. Our client blew .13 on the EC-IR II breath device.

Read More Results