Roberts Law Group, PLLC
North Carolina Criminal Defense Attorneys

On March 13, the North Carolina Supreme Court announced that courts throughout the state would close for at least 30 days, in an effort to protect public safety amid the Covid-19 outbreak. Roberts Law Group will remain open during this time. We are available to meet with new and existing clients in-person or on the phone. Please call our law office to schedule a time to meet.

We FIGHT for the Best Results
We FIGHT for the Best Results

I Got A DWI. Do I Need A Lawyer?

Even if it is your first drunk driving charge, you should at the very least talk to a lawyer about your options; many DWI attorneys offer a free initial consultation. In addition to advising you of the potential DWI penalties that you may face, an experienced impaired driving lawyer can work on getting the case against you dismissed, the charges against you reduced, negotiate a reasonable plea or fight for an acquittal at trial, depending on the circumstances of your case.

In short, a lawyer can help ensure that you aren't punished as harshly as the law allows - up to two years in prison, even for a first offense - for one mistake.

If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will be assigned a punishment level and will be sentenced accordingly. Level five is the lowest level of punishment and comes with a jail sentence of one day to two months, along with a $200 fine. Level one is the highest level of punishment and comes with a jail sentence of one month to two years and a fine up to $4,000.

In North Carolina, the level of punishment you will receive after a drunk driving conviction is determined by any mitigating, aggravating or grossly aggravating factors. Mitigating factors could include the absence of any prior criminal history and an aggravating factor could include a high BAC of .15 or greater. Mitigating factors are weighed against aggravating factors to determine what sentencing level is appropriate.

Grossly aggravating factors trump mitigating factors and you can expect to be sentenced at a level two or above if you, for example, were arrested for DWI with a minor in your car.

Source: Super Lawyers, "Do I Need A Lawyer For My First DUI In North Carolina?"

Client Reviews

Get Legal Help Now
Let Us Help You

Put our team of criminal defense lawyers on your side today. You are one phone call or email away from getting your questions answered by an experienced defense attorney.

Call us at 877-880-5753 to set up a free consultation or send us an email.

Fill out the form below for a Free Consultation.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Call 877-880-5753 to schedule a free initial consultation.
Offices open weekdays 8am - 7pm, Saturdays 9am - 5pm